HELP – FAQ
How am I protected on Vanilla Umbrella app?
We will try our best to filter people who don’t behave according to our policies. We rely on you to be our eyes and ears, so please report as soon as you see:
We will warn them and eventually ban their devices, which means they will no longer be able to use their account or create another account on Vanilla Umbrella.
What content is considered inappropriate?
Photos of bare breasts, lingerie or display of intimate body parts (even seen through clothes) or any nudity (even discrete) or sexually hinting photos are not allowed. Photos displaying sexual activities or hinting to such are also not allowed.
For all these, there is the "private photos" option
If you upload any explicit images of sex or sexual organs, you will be immediately banned.
Why does my profile not show up in searches or other pages on the app?
Your profile is not displayed on any of the pages of the app (People Nearby, Match, Likes, Friends etc.) if you don't have a valid avatar. Please make sure you have an avatar in compliance with the public content policies mentioned above.
How do you review the photos? How do I know if my photos have been approved?
It should take no longer than 1-2 hours for your photos to be reviewed and, if that time has passed and your avatar is still there, it means it has been accepted. If the app prompts you for a new avatar, it means your avatar has been rejected and you will need to try a different, more appropriate image. You can now either see it as a private photo (if it's too sexual) or it has been removed (we remove photos of children, photos of nothing, like a plain colour, a wall/floor etc.).
What if I have another account?
We are sorry, but the system is created so that people are prevented from having or using 2 accounts at the same time on the same device.
How does the Credits System work? How can I send messages for free?
For everyone’s convenience and privacy needs, we have developed a system to control the messages that users can send. Thus, if you want to start a conversation with a person who liked you back and is now in your Matches, or with a person who is in your Friends list, that is FREE. Apart from that, for every conversation you want to start with a person who hasn’t liked you back or who isn’t in your friends list, you will have to use credits.
Also, if you want to put yourself in the spotlight or send a Play Request, you need credits.
Don’t worry, you can get lots and lots of FREE credits by inviting your friends to join and you will also be awarded credits (one off reward) for getting your profile verified.
How do I edit my profile? How do I add pictures?
When you go to your profile overview, in the lower side of the screen you will see the edit profile/add picture buttons.
What is the difference between avatar and gallery photo?
The avatar is the image that represents your profile as an icon to other users and is also the profile photo that users see when they visit your profile. IF YOU HAVE NOT UPLOADED AN AVATAR OR YOUR AVATAR HAS BEEN REMOVED FOR NOT BEING IN COMPLIANCE TO THE CONTENT POLICIES, YOUR PROFILE IS NOT DISPLAYED ON THE APP until you have an avatar (note that all the profiles that you can see have an avatar). Uploading a new avatar will remove and replace the old avatar (you can only have one avatar), but it will not affect your gallery photos. The avatar photo can NOT be private.
Gallery photos appear in your gallery in square previews under your avatar and you can have multiple gallery photos. If you upload a new gallery photo, public or private, it will be added to the gallery without affecting the others. The gallery photos can also be PRIVATE.
Why do I have to crop my picture?
Our system is currently designed that way and we have no way around it. We are planning to make the dimensions of the pictures more flexible in the future.
How do I make a picture private? How do I set a picture as my avatar?
Click on the picture and in the upper right side of the screen you have an edit button. That will give you the option to make the picture private, use it as avatar or delete it. When a function is active, the colour of the button turns to red.
How do I delete my avatar?
You cannot delete your avatar. If you want to deactivate/delete your account and remove all data associated to it, please contact our support team.
What does the crossed circle on my private pictures mean?
The crossed circle ("forbidden" sign) on some of your photos means that they are private. You are the only one who sees that sign.
How do I edit/delete/change privacy of my gallery photos and avatar?
To delete a gallery photo or change its privacy, tap on the photo and us the edit button in the upper right side of the photo. This only works for gallery photos. The avatar can not be edited, it can only be replaced with another one (tap on the avatar to upload a new one).
What does the number next to my avatar mean?
The number next to your avatar is the total number of photos that you have, including the avatar.
How do I add a fetish that is not on the fetishes list?
If your fetish is not on the standard fetishes list, you can write it in the Custom Fetishes field available under the fetishes list. What you write there will appear as part of your fetishes list to everyone who sees your profile (inside the red block of fetishes).
How do I find someone if I know his/her username or email?
The username/email search function is located in the Friends section, you can find it if you click on the "+" button in the upper right side of the screen.
How do I invite friends?
If you go to the Friends section, in the upper right side you will see a “+” button that will take you to the “Invite friends” page.
What do all the labels on people’s profiles mean?
How do I search for people around me?
The People Nearby default search will reset every time you enter it to people nearby. If you want to search in a different location, you can choose that in the Search Settings.
How do I freeze/delete my account?
You have the option to remove your account in Settings -> My Account.
I have purchased VIP time and have not received my credits, why?
200 credits are added to your account at the beginning of each month of VIP. For instance, if you have purchased 6 months, you will receive 200 and then 200 at the beginning of each month.
If you already have some days left of your VIP and purchased extra time, your credits will be awarded when the new month starts.